yhzheng
Just another WordPress.com site

Thought Log #4

Yes, I believe reasoning can minimize mistakes because I think as long as you can back it up and make sense of it, then you are right. When you reason, you are trying to convince people to think a certain way or at least sway their opinions a little about something with the information and knowledge that you present to them. These information can be facts, logics, and/or opinions. For example, when I try to convince someone that there are extra-terrestrial life out there in space or aliens. I could say there are sightings, pictures, and actual cases (even if I’m not sure if they are real/true) and that would be facts. I could say “We live in such a big and vast universe, there’s no way we are the only ones out there” and that would be logic because with something as big as space, we can’t be the only ones living. I use reason whenever I believe something is right so it’s like defending your opinion on something. I use facts only when I know they are true and can back up my reasoning. I use logic when I think something is common sense or there’s a better explanation for something. I don’t use these when I agreeing with someone unless I am also backing him/her up. When I know I am wrong, I just keep my mouth shut and not say anything. So to sum up this paragraph, I think reasoning can minimize mistakes because even if you are wrong, at least you had valid points to back up your argument and that made it less of a mistake. If you just state something and not give any supporting details, then you would be completely wrong.

If reasoning brought certainty, the costs and trade-offs for trying to know knowledge claims this way is that then we wouldn’t be open-minded anymore. We won’t hear other people’s opinion and view because now we know we are right and so therefore, they are wrong. We just block out what other people have to say and accept our own views. Another cost is that you are still using reasoning so it could still be a mistake. You could have used your own biased opinion and not realize it. Reasoning is based on an individual’s personal opinions and views . Anytime something is based on an individual, it can’t be trusted 100%. Other than that, I can’t find any other costs and trade-offs of reasoning bringing certainty. Reasoning bringing certainty is a good thing because now you found your answer. Now you know which/what is more “true” and “right”.

No Responses to “Thought Log #4”

Leave a comment